Open up your mind and your potential reaches infinity…


I know majority of my close friends and kins are of the opinion that banning of face veil in France is against the Human rights and needs to be protested. Again I stand as a miniscule minority who thinks differently.
Apparently I donot fear being labelled an eccentric or a cynic, and feel more at ease by expressing my genuine views–no matter how dissenting they may be.

Very valid that no one has right to tell women what should they wear and what they should not. Yes it amounts to usurping the ‘right to choose’ but I have certain reasons why I stand unconcerned on the issue.

1. First, it is a political issue. To give it a religious color and get emotional in my opinion unjustified. Headlines calling it–‘banning of a muslim veil’ – by endless news reports includintg the major international newspapers, is in my view ‘inaccurate’ reporting. The language used is ‘bans the veils anywhere in public’.

2. Second, facial veil is not a mandatory in Islam even according to scholars, so to get emotional about the issue as usurping of religious rights isn’t valid.

3. Yes in a way it is going to affect only the Muslims, because nowadays it is only the Muslim women who practice face covering on a regular basis. Is it not a food for thought for us liberals to shake our brains on our cultural primitivity?

4.It was voted by the French Parliament with an overwhelming majority through a democratic process, not by any one person’s whims and fancy. Even in the polls, 80% of French are against it. Majority prevails in a democracy.

5. It is not the first country to ban a face veil. “Tunisia since 1981, and Turkey since 1997, are two Muslim countries which have banned the hijab in public schools and universities or government buildings, whilst Syria banned face veils in universities from July 2010.” Why didnt we cry foul then?

6. French parliament has been there for ages and so has been the face veil. Why then the ban now? It is a case of ‘lost trust’ between the west and the Muslims ( if at all it is to be taken as a ban on muslim rights). In such a case, crying against the ban in isolation will aggravate the polarisation. It should be looked at more objectively than emotionally and must deal with the bridging of the wideing gap through restoration of trust. When the trust returns, prejudice against such practices and targetting them would die it’s own death.

7. I donot agree that any woman is eagerly willing to wear a niqaab if given the choice without being brainwashed on it’s favour. Hence to say that those who wear it willingly, have been made willing through constant brainwashing. In my view it is the same as a person who has been brainwashed/convinced on committing suicide should be allowed to do so. Why is that an offence then? Who does it harm if someone wants to die?

8. If woman should be allowed to choose covering her face, why would those who want to go nude, have female circumcision or tolerate domestic abuse without complain, not be allowed to do so as a fundamental right. Why are these considered offences?

9. In the number game, ban on face veil will help far more girls and women who are, by force, asked to cover in compliance to the family/cultural values, than those very few who will be forced to take it off.

10.Medically and psychologically, veil is harmful. Absolute covering prevents exposure to sun, hence Vit D deficiency and Osteoporosis is very common in women who wear veil. And such covering prevents light and hence causes depression in the women.

11. Veil is definitely a hinderance in communication. Facial and eye expression are a major component of communication. It affects those who are interacting with a veiled woman and causes inequality.The woman can see all the expressions of the person she is communicating to, but conceals her own expressions. It is an unfair and non-reciprocal exchange of communication.

12. We have common men women in Pakistan more worried about a ban on veil in France( where not even 5% will ever get a chance to go and live) and are oblivious to the packing up of HEC right under their nose–a case of wrong values.We need to divert our energies to that issue.

13. We have been complaing of western agenda against muslims, against Islam for the last two decades. Do we think the West are angels, they will not retalite to our constant dislike or suspicions towards them. It is a reaction to our own irrational actions.

Yes, ban of veil may be an infringement of one’s fundamental right, but I donot consider it such a big issue to waste my energy and divert from ‘real’ issues. We recently wasted a lot of energies, valuable time on the issue of Raymond Davis–but what was the end result?

Thank God I did not waste my time and mind on it, even then.

I think we must start doing the Cost-Effect Analysis of our worries on the innumerable issues concerning this world.

Comments on: "13 Reasons Why I am not Perturbed by the Ban on Veil in France" (1)

  1. An FB friend wrote this personal experience in the comments on the blog posted on my wall. Thought it was worth preserving her story:

    Dheena Sadik
    Dear Ilmana, this is my opinion via my personal story-

    I wore the Hijab (attire covering the whole body head to toes excluding the face and palms) for the past 15 years. Eventually as it’s EVIDENT my perspective of it changed. I also DID wea…r the Burqa (face veil) while I was in Pakistan out of obligation for my safety. After much research (the diverse ramifications I choose not to disclose due to the lack of time to explore a decade long research), it has dawned to me that the BURQA, ie- face veil covering the EYES as well, as seen commonly in Fundamental circles, is NOT a requirement in Islam. In fact there is evidence in the Qur’an itself to prove that women who interacted with the Prophet Muhammad had their faces and beauty exposes.

    So I confess I am honestly very elated and thank the Divine Creator of this Universe, for ensuring the French government banned the Burqa because in reality they banned ‘LAZINESS from curiosity to find out the Truth’- which is NOT part of the True Light in Islam which actually gives women freedom contrary to what is evidently practiced by close minded radicals today. I am also familiar that the French government CONFIRMED this with various Islamic leaders including clergymen who had officially announced that the face veil is NOT a prerequisite of Islam.

    Also, I would like to say this is an opportunity for all the Muslim women in Burqa in France and worldwide to genuinely get interested and research the reality behind this cliché.

    Sometime ago, someone told me frankly, “I PREFER a partner/ wife who is WITHOUT THIS HEAD GEAR as specially the black thing those women wear SCARES me!”

    This was the time I was still wearing the Hijab and felt neutral about it. I was very offended when he kept called my colorful scarves as Head GEARS. But I am SO grateful I was blessed with this eye opening encounter since it was this provocation that really motivated me to re-SEARCH the stories behind it.

    So through this personal sensitive experiences (out of which I have only shared a fraction here) I hope and pray for all those women to REALLY stop being afraid and LAZY to find out the Truth by Our Benevolent Creator. Instead USE their blessed BRAINS and curiosity to find out the TRUTH.

    Peace and Love to all,
    Dr.Dee♥

Leave a Reply

